chili rubbed steak tacos & mango salsa

I found this delicious recipe for chili rubbed steak tacos with mango salsa courtesy of Ellie Krieger. The steaks were juicy, the salsa was sweet, and the spice rub was sooo flavorful. Did I mention I felt healthy eating this? Key word: felt :P.

Pictures and recipe (with my own revisions) after the jump.

Side note: I’m not a cooking blog nor do I try to be. But if I eat something good chances are that I’ll put it up here.

For the tacos you’ll need:

12 corn tortillas

Freshly grated Monterey jack cheese

1 1/4 lb top sirloin steaks, cut 1-inch thick (i don’t know my steaks, but i bought petite sirloin steaks and they worked perfectly)

1 tbsp chili powder

2 cloves garlic minced

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon (I recommend using a little bit less if you don’t want your steaks as sweet)

1/4 tsp salt

A pinch of cayenne pepper (I like it spicy, so I used more than a pinch)

A pinch of black pepper

Mix all the spices and garlic together in a small bowl, then rub the mixture on both sides of the steak. Coat a medium pan with olive oil and set the heat on medium. Sear the steaks for about 3-4 minutes on each side. Let the steaks rest for about 10 minutes, then carve into thin slices.

For the mango salsa:

1 peeled and diced mango

1/2 peeled and diced cucumber

1 tbsp finely chopped jalapeno (I used a little more than this for that extra kick)

1/3 cup diced red onion

1 tbsp lime juice

1/3 cup chopped cilantro leaves

salt and pepper to taste

All you need to do is combine all the ingredients together in a small bowl, mix, and then serve cold!

5 comments

  1. oh, and i meant to say i used all the same ingredients in your salsa! i usually use this with a fish dish – but last night i switched it up and put it in a salad =D i’ll try making it again and document! haha

Leave a Reply

