lazy desserts: panna cotta sundae

The other night I made a couple servings of panna cotta.  It’s pretty simple to prepare.  However, panna cotta is one of those dishes that you can’t get it right for the first time. Most of my “first time tries” for other recipes turn out great, but I had to practice making panna cotta. It’s tricky getting the texture to be perfect, you don’t want to use too much gelatin or not enough.

I didn’t want to eat another plain version for the 2nd night in a row, so I had to change things up a lil bit. I call it my “panna cotta sundae” because it looks like an ice cream sundae/banana split. Traditionally, panna cotta is prepared with strawberries, raspberries, or blueberries, but I think any fruit will do.  I also didn’t have any chocolate chunks in my pantry, so I had to substitute with *drum roll* Nutella! Melting Nutella can be melted the same way as chocolate over a double broiler with heavy cream or milk.

Recipe for the panna cotta from my girl Giada De Laurentiis:

  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 tablespoon unflavored powdered gelatin
  • 3 cups whipping cream
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla (I added the vanilla for more flavor)

Place the milk in a small bowl. Sprinkle the gelatin over. Let stand for 3 to 5 minutes to soften the gelatin. Pour milk mixture into a heavy saucepan and stir over medium heat just until the gelatin dissolves but the milk does not boil, about 5 minutes. Add the cream, honey, sugar, sat, and vanilla. Stir until the sugar dissolves, 5 to 7 minutes. Remove from the heat. Pour into 6 glasses or ramekins . Let them cool. Refrigerate until set, at least 6 hours.

Once they have been set, top with fruits of your choice. I chose mandarin oranges and bananas. To make the Nutella dressing, you’ll need about 3 parts Nutella to 1 part milk. Heat the milk in a double broiler then stir in the Nutella until you have reached your desired consistency. If you want the hazelnut spread thinner add more milk and vice versa.

4 comments

  1. you’re right, panna cotta takes times to perfect! i’ve only made it once and it was a fail but i ate it anyway. haha. maybe i’ll give it another go with your recipe esp. since it calls for nutella!

    hi katrina!

Leave a Reply

