sugar rose, part 1

What have I been doing?

I attempted to make a four-layer, ombre cake one night last week. I’ve baked simple cakes and cupcakes, but nothing prepared me for what I got myself into. Baking in itself is a science. If you haven’t tried baking something specific without reading instructions, do not even bother trying to WING IT. Educate yourself. I failed to do this, thinking I knew what I was doing.

I don’t have a picture of that cake, but I do have a picture of a sugar/fondant rose I made the day after. I’ve been following several Pinterest and YouTube tutorials. There isn’t just one that works. You really just have to try them all and see what works for you.

Making gum paste or fondant flowers is very time consuming, but you can’t help but get lost in it. There is a lot of work that goes into each individual petal: the rolling, cutting, thinning, shaping, layering, and so on. This isn’t perfect, because I’m just starting, however, I notice myself improving each time.

Leave a Reply

